Skip to main content

The International Telecommunication Union (ITU) is a specialized agency of the United Nations responsible for international telecommunications. It was founded in 1865 as the International Telegraph Union, and since then has played a key role in the development of telecommunications.

ITU is headquartered in Geneva, Switzerland, and is composed of 193 Member States and more than 900 associate members. Its objective is to promote the development of telecommunications for the benefit of all peoples.

ITU’s main functions are:

  • Establish international standards for telecommunications. ITU is responsible for establishing international standards for telecommunications, such as standards for radiocommunication systems, telecommunication networks and telecommunication services. These standards are essential to ensure the interoperability of telecommunication systems worldwide.
  • Promoting international cooperation in telecommunications. ITU promotes international cooperation in telecommunications, working with governments, businesses and civil society organizations. This cooperation is essential for the development of telecommunications in developing countries.
  • Providing technical assistance to developing countries. ITU offers technical assistance to developing countries to help them develop their telecommunication systems. This assistance includes training, advice and funding.

ITU has played an important role in the development of telecommunications around the world. Its standards have made possible the interoperability of telecommunication systems worldwide, and its international cooperation has helped develop telecommunications in developing countries.